The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    UNC Pembroke
  Dec 16, 2017
The University of North Carolina at Pembroke 2016-2017 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

UNCP Leadership

The University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Chief Executives*

G.G. Maughon, Sr., Superintendent (1935‑1940)

A.B.., Mercer University; M.A., University of Georgia

O.H. Browne, Acting Superintendent (1940‑1941); Acting President (1941‑1942)

B.S., North Carolina State College; Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Ralph D. Wellons, President (1942‑1956)

A.B., M.A., Indiana University; Ph.D., Teachers College, Columbia University

Walter J. Gale, President (1956‑1962)

B.S., New Jersey State Teachers College; M. Ed., Ed.D., Duke University

English E. Jones, President (1962‑1972); Chancellor (1972‑1979)

B.S., University of Kentucky; M.S., North Carolina State University; LL.D., Wake Forest University; D.H., Pembroke State University

Paul R. Givens, Chancellor (1979‑1989); Chancellor Emeritus (1989‑2004)

B.A., M.A., George Peabody College; Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Joseph B. Oxendine, Chancellor (1989‑1999); Chancellor Emeritus (1999‑ )

B.A., Catawba College; M.Ed., Ed.D., Boston University

Allen C. Meadors, Professor and Chancellor (1999-2009); Chancellor Emeritus (2009‑ )

B.B.A, University of Central Arkansas; M.B.A.., University of Northern Colorado; M.P.A., University of Kansas; M.A., M.A., Webster University; Ph.D., Southern Illinois University; FACHE

Charles R. Jenkins, Interim Chancellor (2009-2010)

B.S., M.A.Ed., East Carolina University; Ed.D., Duke University

Kyle R. Carter, Chancellor (2010-2015)

B.S., Mercer University; M.S., Ph.D., University of Georgia

Robin Gary Cummings, Chancellor (2015-  )

B.S., M.D.

*This list includes chief executives since the institution became a four‑year institution. Prior to 1941, chief executives held the title of principal or superintendent. The title of President was changed to Chancellor beginning July 1, 1972, when the institution, as Pembroke State University, became a constituent institution of The University of North Carolina.

Board of Trustees:
The University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Kellie Hunt Blue, Chair (2019) Pembroke
Michael Holmes, Vice Chair (2017) Orange Park, FL
Don Metzger, Secretary (2017) Lumberton
Wiley Barrett (2019) Southern Pines
Robert E. Caton (2019) Lumberton
Patrick Corso (2019) Pinehurst
James Jones (2017) Hampstead
George Little (2019) Southern Pines
Alphonzo McRae Jr. (2019) Proctorville
Lorna Ricotta (2017) Fayetteville
Albert "Newy" Scruggs (2017) Arlington, TX
Larry Stone (2019) Lumberton
Logan John (2016-2017) SGA President Pembroke