Jun 18, 2024  
The University of North Carolina at Pembroke 2017-2018 Catalog 
The University of North Carolina at Pembroke 2017-2018 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


(Payment must be in U.S. dollars. Expenses are subject to change without notice.)

Tuition and Fees

Tuition and all fees are due and payable in full before the first day of classes or by billing due date for those students that have pre-registered for each semester or summer term. Please make checks or money orders payable to the University of North Carolina at Pembroke. A returned check charge of $25 will be levied on each returned check.

It is the policy of the administration and trustees to keep the cost of a college education as low as possible. Since UNC Pembroke is maintained by the people of North Carolina for the education of residents of the State, it is available to them at a lower cost than to nonresidents. The residency status of each student is determined at the time of original admission. (See below for further information on residency status.) Registration for any semester or session may not be completed until all special or extra fees, fines, payments for lost or damaged articles, etc., incurred in the previous semester or session, have been paid; no transcript nor record will be issued until all fees/fines owed have been paid.

Tuition Surcharge on Undergraduates

The North Carolina Legislature directed the Board of Governors to impose a fifty percent tuition surcharge on students who take more than 140 credit hours to complete a baccalaureate degree in a four-year program or more than one hundred ten percent (110%) of the credit hours necessary to complete a baccalaureate degree in any program officially designated by the Board of Governors as a five-year program. The calculation of these credit hours taken at a constituent institution or accepted for transfer shall exclude hours earned through the College Board’s Advanced Placement or CLEP examinations, through institutional advanced placement or course validation, or through summer term or extension programs.

No surcharge shall be imposed on any student who exceeds the degree credit hour limits within the equivalent of four academic years of regular term enrollment, or within five academic years of regular term enrollment in a degree program officially designated by the Board of Governors as a five-year program.

The undergraduate credit hours to be counted for calculation in the surcharge requirement include:

  • all regular session degree-creditable courses taken at this institution including repeated courses, failed courses and those dropped after your official census date (normally the last date to add a course); and
  • all transfer credit hours accepted by this institution.

The hours excluded from the calculation include:

  1. those earned through the College Board’s Advanced Placement (AP) and College Level Examination Program (CLEP) or similar programs;
  2. those earned through institutional advanced placement, course validation, or any similar procedure for awarding course credit, and
  3. those earned through the summer session or degree-credit extension division on this campus or at another UNC institution.

Schedule of Undergraduate Expenses: Regular Session

(Subject to change without notice.)

Sem. Hrs.


Out‑of‑State Tuition In‑State Fixed Tuition Fees Ins.* Total In‑State Total Out‑of‑State Total In‑State Fixed
12+ $1,801.00 $7,596.50 $1,765.50 $1,176.85 $1,270.00 $4,247.85.09 $10,043.35 $4,212.35
9‑11 $1,350.75 $5,697.38 $1,324.13 $882.64 $1,270.00 $3,503.39 $7,850.02 $3,476.77
6-8 $900.50 $3,798.25 $882.75 $588.43 $1,270.00 $2,758.93 $5,656.68 $2,741.18
1-5 $450.25 $1,899.13 $441.38 $294.21 0 $744.46 $2,193.44 $735.59

*International Insurance: TBD

*Estimated Cost: Subject to Change

**Freshmen also required to have a meal plan and pay a First Year Initiative Fee of $55.00 and a Freshman Alcohol Education Class Fee of $32.00.

Room and Board Expenses

    Room Rate Meal Plan Rate (Minimum*) Total Semester (Minimum*) Total Year (Minimum*)
  Double $2,445.00 $2,045.88 $4,490.88 $8,981.76
  Single - Private $2,885.00 $2,045.88 $4,930.88 $9,861.76
  Private Double $3,125.00 $2,045.88 $5,170.88 $10,341.76
Pine and Oak Hall        
  Double $2,445.00 $2,045.88 $4,490.88 $8,981.76
  Single - Private $2,885.00 $2,045.88 $4,930.88 $9,861.76
  Private Double $3,125.00 $2,045.88 $5,170.88 $10,341.76
Belk Hall        
  Double $2,300.00 $2,045.88 $4,345.88 $8,691.76
  Single - Private $2,980.00 $2,045.88 $5,025.88 $10,051.76
University Village Apartments        
  Double $2,540.00   $2,540.00 $5,080.00
  Private Double $3,220.00   $3,220.00 $6,440.00
Courtyard Apartments        
  2 bdrm/2 bath (single bdrms) $3,260.00   $3,260.00 $6,520.00
  4 bdrm/2 bath (single bdrms) $2,980.00   $2,980.00 $5,960.00

*Based on 9-12 meals per week; rates for other options are listed below.

Meal Plan Options*

*All freshmen are required to have a meal plan.

Meal Plan Rate Meals Per Week Semester Bonus Money
$2,045.88 9 475.00
  12 250.00
$2,158.29 12 375.00
  14 250.00
  Carte Blanche 25.00
Apartment Occupants or Commuters Only
Block Meal Plan Rate Meals Per Semester Semester Bonus Money
$723.71 50 300.00
$349.01 25 135.00

Detailed Explanation of Charges: Tuition, Fees, and Insurance

  North Carolina Residents ‑ Undergraduates $1,801.00
  Out-of-State Residents ‑ Undergraduates $7,596.50
GENERAL FEES (Per Semester)  
  Educational and Technology Fee $211.39
  Health Services: This fee is used to operate Student Health Services. $87.50
  Other Required Fees: These fees are used to support various University programs such as Athletics, Band and Chorus, Banner implementation, Dramatics, Debt Service, Student Center, Student Government, Braves One Card, Intramurals, Yearbook, Newspaper, and the Performing Arts Series. $877.96


Students taking 6 or more credit hours will be charged $1,270.00 per semester for health insurance; the fee for international students is yet to be determined.

If you wish to waive this insurance, you must complete the waiver on-line at www.bcbsnc.com/student each Fall and Spring. The Student Health Services Office can answer any questions you may have about the coverage or waiver process.

Miscellaneous Fees

Application Fee $45
  This fee, paid at the time of initial application, is non-refundable and cannot be applied to meet any other charges.  
Undergraduate Graduation Fee $50
Graduate Graduation Fee $90
  This fee must be paid at the time the student makes application for graduation. It is used to pay for the cap, gown, and diploma. This is a non-refundable fee.  
Late Payment/Registration Fees $25
  Students who register and/or pay for classes after the scheduled registration date has passed must pay this fee.  
Dormitory Deposit Fee (refundable) $150
Vehicle Registration Fee:  
  Commuter (Day) $110
  Commuter (night) $70
  Dormitory Resident $110
  Permits sold after April 30 will be half price. A vehicle registration permit is valid for one full year, commencing August 15.  
Transcript Fee  
  Mailed $5
  Faxed $5
  Walk‑in $10
Returned Check Charge $25

Refund Regulations

(Subject to Change)

4. Tuition and Fees

4.1 Withdrawals

Tuition and fees, including room and board, will be refunded per the following schedules, provided a student officially withdraws from the University.

4.1.1 Fall and Spring Semesters

Through the first week of classes (five class days starting the first official day of classes for the university) tuition and required fees will be refunded at 100 percent

The second week of classes (six to ten consecutive class days) tuition and required fees will be refunded at 75 percent.

The third and fourth week of classes (eleven to twenty consecutive class days) tuition and required fees will be refunded at 50 percent.

The fifth and sixth week of classes (twenty-first to thirtieth consecutive class days) tuition and required fees will be refunded at 25 percent.

Beginning with the seventh week of classes (thirty-first consecutive class day) refunds will not be considered.

4.1.2 First and Second Summer Sessions and Non-Traditional Courses

Through the first week of classes (three class days starting the first official day of classes for the university) tuition and required Full Time Equivalent (FTEs) will be refunded 100 percent.

The second week of classes (four to eight consecutive class days) tuition and required FTEs will be refunded at 75 percent.

The third week of classes (nine to twelve consecutive class days) tuition and required FTEs will be refunded at 50 percent.

During third week of classes (thirteenth consecutive class day) refunds will not be considered.

4.2 UNCP begins counting calendar days beginning with the first official day of classes (not the first day of particular classes). A completed withdrawal form must be filed with the Registrar’s Office. Forms for withdrawal during the first (6) weeks of the semester, the first nine (9) calendar days of first and second summer sessions, and the first six (6) calendar days of intra sessions may be obtained from the Registrar’s Office. After these times, forms may be obtained from the Office for Academic Affairs.

4.3 Reducing Hours. Students who officially drop from full-time to part-time status or those who drop to a lower block of credit hours will receive a refund equal to the difference between the amount paid and the charge for the block of hours for which the student is officially registered at the end of the registration (drop/add) period. Refunds for withdrawing or reducing hours will be processed after the registration period. A refund will only be issued for reducing hours or withdrawing from/dropping a class while still attending other classes at the university if the reduction or the class drop/withdrawal is completed during the drop/add period.

4.4 Please allow two weeks for processing of any refund. A student receiving financial aid will not receive a refund until the Financial Aid Office determines if any funds from an awarding agency must be returned. If a return is required, withdrawal may result in a student liability to the university. All refunds are subject to the above noted time limitations. Students who receive Title IV financial aid are subject to separate federal refund regulations governing such aid. A student receiving financial aid may not receive a refund until the Financial Aid Office determines if any funds from an awarding agency must be returned. Changes in the number of hours a student is enrolled may have an effect on eligibility for aid, and may result in a student having to repay all or a portion of the aid. Generally, students withdrawing from the institution may owe a repayment of all or some portion of the financial aid received. Students who have specific questions should contact the Financial Aid Office for additional information.

5. Appeals

5.1 Tuition and Fees

5.1.1 Individuals wishing to appeal the percentage of refunds they are eligible to receive must initiate the request in writing to the Registrar’s Office and are encouraged to include any and all documentation they believe to be relevant to the appeal. Appeals can be submitted in person or via email. All documents submitted for an appeal are retained for audit purposes by the Registrar or his/her designee, along with documentation of the appeal outcome. Changing your mind about college, poor academic performance, disciplinary withdrawal, or not receiving expected financial assistance are considered to be the result of personal choices and actions and will not be considered for a refund appeal after the above noted time limitations. Failure to comply with published deadlines or regulations is not a serious and compelling reason to seek a refund and will not be approved.

5.1.2. Students withdrawing after fifty percent of the semester or term has expired will not be considered for a refund, regardless of the reasons(s) necessitating the withdrawal.

5.1.3 Requests for refunds submitted later than one year after the end of the semester/term for which the refund request is made will not be considered, regardless of reason(s).

5.1.4 Refunds are generally not approved when withdrawal or reduction in course load is caused by the following:

5.1.4.a. Personal reason(s);

5.1.4.b. Ignorance of publicized rules and regulations;

5.1.4.c. Circumstances within the student’s control; and

5.1.4.d. Failure of student to fulfill responsibilities.

5.1.5 Refund Consideration. In general, a refund of tuition and required fees due to a withdrawal or reduction in course load before fifty percent of the semester or term has expired is approved if the request was caused by any of the following circumstances. Death of student; Being called to active military duty or the reassignment to a new active duty station; Documented serious medical reasons; Death or serious illness of immediate family; Verifiable circumstances completely beyond the student’s control that result in extreme or unusual hardship to the student (i.e. Catastrophic calamity, natural or otherwise); Substantive error on the part of the university.

5.1.6 Notification of Appeal Determination. Decisions will be final and will be communicated to the student in writing (or via email) and will be disseminated internally as necessary and externally upon written request and in accordance with federal and state guidance related to release of student data.

5.1.7 Retro-Withdrawals. In those instances where nonattendance is verified and a retro-withdrawal is granted, or in those instances where the associate vice chancellor for enrollment grants a retro-withdrawal, tuition and fee charges will be adjusted in accordance with the university’s established refund processes.

6. Room Deposit

6.1 The University will refund all but $25 of the room deposit to incoming new students if written cancellation is received by July 31 preceding the fall semester and November 30 preceding the spring semester. The room deposit is non‑refundable after these deadlines.

6.2 The $150 room deposit (less damages and /or any other financial obligations owed The University of North Carolina at Pembroke) will be refunded to established residents provided the resident submits written cancellation by November 30 preceding the spring semester and by July 15 preceding the fall semester. Established residents must follow check‑out procedures as detailed in the Student handbook to ensure an appropriate refund of the room deposit.

6.3 If a student withdraws from the University prior to mid‑semester, the room deposit will be forfeited. If a student withdraws after mid‑semester, the room deposit (less damages if any) will be refunded, provided checkout procedures have been followed.

Residence Status for Tuition Purposes

The basis for determining the appropriate tuition charge rests upon whether a student is a resident or a nonresident for tuition purposes. Each student must make a statement as to the length of his or her residence in North Carolina, with assessment by the institution of that statement to be conditioned by the following.


To qualify as a resident for tuition purposes, a person must become a legal resident and remain a legal resident for at least twelve months immediately prior to classification. Thus there is a distinction between legal residence and residence for tuition purposes. Furthermore, twelve months legal residence means more than simple abode in North Carolina. In particular it means maintaining a domicile (permanent home of indefinite duration) as opposed to “maintaining a mere temporary residence or abode incident to enrollment in an institution of higher education.” The burden of establishing facts which justify classification of a student as a resident entitled to in-state tuition rates is on the applicant for such classification, who must show his or her entitlement by the preponderance (the greater part) of the residentiary information.

Initiative: Being classified a resident for tuition purposes is contingent on the student’s seeking such status and providing all information that the institution may require in making the determination.

Parent’s Domicile

If an individual, irrespective of age, has living parent(s) or a court-appointed guardian of the person, the domicile of such parent(s) or guardian is, prima facie, the domicile of the individual; but this prima facie evidence of the individual’s domicile may or may not be sustained by other information. Further, nondomiciliary status of parents is not deemed prima facie evidence of the applicant child’s status if the applicant has lived (though not necessarily legally resided) in North Carolina for the five years preceding enrollment or re-registration.

Effect of Marriage

Marriage alone does not prevent a person from becoming or continuing to be a resident for tuition purposes, nor does marriage in any circumstance insure that a person will become or continue to be a resident for tuition purposes. Marriage and legal residence of one’s spouse are, however, relevant information in determining residentiary intent. Furthermore, if both husband and his wife are legal residents of North Carolina and if one of them has been a legal resident longer than the other, then the longer duration may be claimed by either spouse in meeting the twelve-month requirement for in-state tuition status.

Military Personnel

A North Carolinian who serves outside the State in the armed forces does not lose North Carolina domicile simply by reason of such service. Students from the military may prove retention or establishment of residence by reference, as in other cases, to residentiary acts accompanied by residentiary intent. In addition, a dependent relative of a service member stationed in the state may be eligible to be charged the in-state tuition rate while the dependent relative is living in North Carolina with the service member and if the dependent relative has met any requirement of the Selective Service System applicable to the dependent relative. These tuition benefits may be enjoyed only if the applicable admission requirements have been met; these benefits alone do not provide the basis for receiving those derivative benefits under the provisions of the residence classification statute reviewed elsewhere in this summary. To be considered, the student must submit a Military Waiver Form.

Grace Period

If a person (1) has been bona fide legal resident, (2) has consequently been classified a resident for tuition purposes, and (3) has subsequently lost North Carolina legal residence while enrolled at a public institution of higher education, that person may continue to enjoy the in-state rate for a grace period of twelve months measured from the date on which North Carolina legal residence was lost. If the twelve months end during an academic term for which the person is enrolled at a State institution of higher education, the grace period extends to the end of that term. The fact of marriage to one who continues domiciled outside North Carolina does not by itself cause loss of legal residence, marking the beginning of the grace period.


Minors (persons under 18 years of age) usually have the domicile of their parents, but certain special cases are recognized by the residence classification statute in determining residence for tuition purposes.

If a minor’s parents live apart, the minor’s domicile is deemed to be North Carolina for the time period(s) that either parent, as a North Carolina legal resident, may claim and does claim the minor as a tax dependent, even if other law or judicial act assigns the minor’s domicile outside North Carolina. A minor thus deemed to be a legal resident will not, upon achieving majority before enrolling at an institution of higher education, lose North Carolina legal residence if that person (1) upon becoming an adult “acts, to the extent that the person’s degree of actual emancipation permits, in a manner consistent with bona fide legal residence in North Carolina” and (2) “begins enrollment at an institution of higher education not later than the fall academic term next following completion of education prerequisite to admission at such institution.”

If a minor has lived for five or more consecutive years with relatives (other than parents) who are domiciled in North Carolina and if relatives have functioned during this time as if they were personal guardians, the minor will be deemed a resident for tuition purposes for an enrolled term commencing immediately after at least five years in which these circumstances have existed. If under this consideration a minor has deemed to be a resident for tuition purposes immediately prior to his or her eighteenth birthday, that person on achieving majority will be deemed a legal resident of North Carolina of at least 12 month’s duration. This provision acts to confer in-state tuition status even in the face of other provisions of law to the contrary; however, a person deemed a resident of 12 months duration pursuant to this provision continues to be a legal resident of the State only so long as he or she does not abandon North Carolina domicile.

Lost, but Regained Domicile

If a student ceases enrollment at or graduates from an institution of higher education while classified a resident for tuition purposes and then both abandons and reacquires North Carolina domicile within a 12-month period, if he or she continues to maintain the reacquired domicile into re-enrollment at an institution of higher education, may re-enroll at the in-state tuition rate without having to meet the usual 12-month durational requirement. However, any one person may receive the benefit of this provision only once.

Change of Status

A student admitted to initial enrollment in an institution (or permitted to re-enroll following an absence from the institutional program which involved a formal withdrawal from enrollment) must be classified by the admitting institution either as a resident or as a nonresident for tuition purposes prior to actual enrollment. A residence status classification once assigned (and finalized pursuant to any appeal properly taken) may be changed thereafter (with corresponding change in billing rates) only at intervals corresponding with the established primary divisions of the academic year.

Transfer Students

When a student transfers from one North Carolina public institution of higher education to another, he or she is treated as a new student by the institution to which he or she is transferring and must be assigned an initial residence status classification for tuition purposes.