Jun 18, 2024  
The University of North Carolina at Pembroke 2017-2018 Catalog 
The University of North Carolina at Pembroke 2017-2018 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Art

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Arts and Sciences

Interim Chair: Carla Rokes

Faculty:  Joseph Begnaud, Robert Epps1, Richard Gay1, Ann Horton-Lopez3, John Antoine Labadie4, Naomi Lifschitz-Grant5, Nancy Palm6, Brandon Sanderson, Adam Walls, Scott Ziegler

1Martha Beach Endowed Chair in Art

2Interim Associate Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

3Art Education Graduate Director

4Media Integration Studies Minor Coordinator

5Art Education Undergraduate Coordinator

6A.D. Gallery Director

The mission of the Art Department is two fold: 1) contribute a necessary and integral component to the mission of the University by providing opportunities for broad artistic and intellectual development of the University body; and 2) specifically nurture and support the quality education of those who have chosen fine arts as a professional goal either as producing artists or as teachers.

The faculty is committed to excellence in teaching, research, and service to the university and the community. The Department strives to provide a learning environment which nurtures not only the artistic spirit but also the professionalism of the prospective art teacher as well. The studio-oriented program leads to study at the graduate level or employment. The Art Education program leads to teacher licensure in grades K-12.

Students must complete a sophomore portfolio review designed to demonstrate competencies in foundations; therefore, all foundation courses should be completed by December of the sophomore year.

Before graduating from either program, seniors are required to present acceptable exhibitions of work from their areas of concentration and undergo a critique of that exhibition by faculty.


    MajorMinorAcademic Concentration


      ArtSpecial Topics in Art

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Arts and Sciences