Jan 28, 2020  
The University of North Carolina at Pembroke 2017-2018 Catalog 
The University of North Carolina at Pembroke 2017-2018 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Political Science and Public Administration

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Arts and Sciences

Chair: Emily A. Neff-Sharum

Faculty:  William G. Albrecht, Gary L. Anderson, Jr., Daniel G. Barbee, Melissa Buice, Kirill Bumin4, Tracy Cooper, Kevin S. Freeman, Carole Graham, Mark Milewicz2, Elizabeth L. Normandy1, Robert O. Schneider, Joe F. West3

1Associate Vice Chancellor, Academic Planning and Accreditation
2Dean, Esther G. Maynor Honors College
3MPA Program Director

4Assistant Dean, The Graduate School



Political Science is the systematic study of politics. In its broadest sense, politics includes the decision‑making and decision‑enforcing processes concerned with the use of valued resources for any group that makes and enforces rules for its members. In this department the emphasis is upon the parts of these processes involving the government.

The Department of Political Science seeks to follow the aims of the liberal arts tradition. It also seeks to provide political science and public administration students with an educational background that will prepare them for a wide range of career opportunities and that are expected by prospective employers from the fields of Law, Foreign Service, Public Administration, Journalism, "Practical Politics," and Teaching.

The Department also offers the Master of Public Administration (M.P.A.) degree with concentrations in Public Management, Criminal Justice, Emergency Management, and Health Administration. For complete information about programs and courses, see the Graduate School section of the catalog.


    MajorMinorAcademic Concentration


      Public Policy and AdministrationPolitical ScienceSpecial Topics in Political Science

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Arts and Sciences