Oct 21, 2021  
The University of North Carolina Pembroke 2014-2015 Catalog 
The University of North Carolina Pembroke 2014-2015 Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

UNCP Leadership

The University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Chief Executives*

G.G. Maughon, Sr., Superintendent (1935‑1940)

A.B.., Mercer University; M.A., University of Georgia

O.H. Browne, Acting Superintendent (1940‑1941); Acting President (1941‑1942)

B.S., North Carolina State College; Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

Ralph D. Wellons, President (1942‑1956)

A.B., M.A., Indiana University; Ph.D., Teachers College, Columbia University

Walter J. Gale, President (1956‑1962)

B.S., New Jersey State Teachers College; M. Ed., Ed.D., Duke University

English E. Jones, President (1962‑1972); Chancellor (1972‑1979)

B.S., University of Kentucky; M.S., North Carolina State University; LL.D., Wake Forest University; D.H., Pembroke State University

Paul R. Givens, Chancellor (1979‑1989); Chancellor Emeritus (1989‑2004)

B.A., M.A., George Peabody College; Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Joseph B. Oxendine, Chancellor (1989‑1999); Chancellor Emeritus (1999‑ )

B.A., Catawba College; M.Ed., Ed.D., Boston University

Allen C. Meadors, Professor and Chancellor (1999-2009); Chancellor Emeritus (2009‑ )

B.B.A, University of Central Arkansas; M.B.A.., University of Northern Colorado; M.P.A., University of Kansas; M.A., M.A., Webster University; Ph.D., Southern Illinois University; FACHE

Charles R. Jenkins, Interim Chancellor (2009-2010)

B.S., M.A.Ed., East Carolina University; Ed.D., Duke University

Kyle R. Carter, Chancellor (2010- )

B.S., Mercer University; M.S., Ph.D., University of Georgia

*This list includes chief executives since the institution became a four‑year institution. Prior to 1941, chief executives held the title of principal or superintendent. The title of President was changed to Chancellor beginning July 1, 1972, when the institution, as Pembroke State University, became a constituent institution of The University of North Carolina.

Board of Trustees:
The University of North Carolina at Pembroke

Wiley Barrett, Chair (2015) Southern Pines
Lorna Ricotta, Vice Chair (2017) Fayetteville
Kellie Hunt Blue, Secretary (2015) Pembroke
Robert E. Caton (2015) Lumberton
Michael Holmes (2017) Orange Park, FL
James Jones (2017) Hampstead
Gary Locklear (2015) Pembroke
Don Metzger (2017) Lumberton
Dwight Pearson (2015) Garner
Newy Scruggs (2017) Arlington, TX
Caroline S. Williamson (2015) Lumberton
Paul Willoughby (2015) Durham
Biruk Kassaw (2014-2015) SGA President Pembroke